My 16: Great-Great Grandparents

Today I begin sharing the lives of my great-great grandparents:

  • John Merido Watkins and Margaret Roxanna Radford of North Carolina
  • David Mooney Taylor and Sarah Elizabeth Grant of North Carolina
  • Doctor Franklin Sebastian and Elizabeth Dowell of North Carolina
  • Henry L Bemis and Ida Mae Osgood of Ohio
  • John Solomon Bailes and Rachel Louisa Bragg of West Virginia
  • George William Comer and Nicatie Gibson of West Virginia
  • Henry Preston Hudnall and Martha Ellen Williams of West Virginia
  • Jerome Clinton Eskins and Eliza J Slack of West Virginia

My great-great-grandparents were born between 1837 and 1878.  The last one passed away in 1954.  Four lived into their eighties, two into their seventies.  Four of the eight women passed away in their thirties.  In fact, all but one of these men outlived their wives.  They were farmers, miners, teamsters, merchants, a postmaster, and a soldier.

These are my grandparents’ grandparents, most of whom were not known to my grandparents because they passed away before they were born.  In some ways it is harder to write about them because most were unable to pass their stories along.  Some have been more difficult to find, research, and write about, their stories feeling somehow incomplete.  I continue researching them in hopes of knowing and sharing more of their lives.  I feel grateful to be able to share photographs of five out of eight sets but continue the search for more.

Many people begin researching their genealogy to see if they are related to someone famous or because they have heard they are.  Many are expecting great things from their ancestors, but let’s face it:  most people today live simple lives like you and I, working each day to provide for their families.  The same can be said for most of our ancestors.  Sometimes small surprises come our way.

I will revisit my great-grandparents and their families often, sometimes sharing information on their siblings that you may find interesting.  I will also keep sharing those old photos we all love.  Let me begin by sharing the story of John Merido Watkins.

Leave a Reply

